Kentfield is nestled at the base of Mt. Tamalpais, bordered by Larkspur and Ross. In 1857, James Ross bought Rancho Punta de Quentin. Ross, a Scot who had arrived in San Francisco from Australia in 1848, made his fortune in the wholesale liquor business and set up a trading post called "Ross Landing". Steamers would come up Corte Madera Creek to the landing there.
Albert Emmet Kent, a Chicago meat packer bought the land from the Ross estate in 1871. He came with his wife Adaline, who later donated twenty-three acres of land for a community recreation center which later became the site for the College of Marin. Albert and Adaline's son William, who became a U.S. congressman and an ardent conservationist, donated Muir Woods as a national park. Kent built an estate called Tamalpais, and the named was changed to Kent in the 1890s, and finally to Kentfield with the opening of the first post office in 1905.
The homes in this area are generally set well back from the streets which meander among pine, redwood and manzanita. The low-profile roofs of these spacious homes, mostly set on large lots, are designed to blend in with the natural surroundings and offer a wooded, country feeling.